Corvus and A.M. Heath launch Deviant Minds competition

16th February 2018

Corvus is very excited to announce that it has joined forces with literary agency A.M. Heath to launch a new competition to find a previously unpublished crime or thriller writer.

Deviant Minds is a writing prize open to unagented authors, with an unpublished adult crime novel or thriller. The author must be born or resident in the UK or Ireland. The lucky winner will be offered representation by A.M. Heath, one of the most renowned literary agencies in the UK, along with an offer of digital publication from Corvus, an imprint of Atlantic Books, with possible print publication to follow.

Entrants should submit the first 10,000 words of their novel, plus a synopsis of not more than 300 words, via email to deviantminds@amheath.com. The deadline for entries is midnight GMT on 27 April. Five entries will be shortlisted, and those writers will be asked to submit their completed novel. The winner will be announced on 9 July 2018.

The judges are A.M. Heath agents Euan Thorneycroft and Oli Munson, and Corvus Editorial Director Sara O’Keeffe and Editor Susannah Hamilton.

A.M. Heath says:

‘A.M. Heath is always on the lookout for new voices and new talent, so we’re thrilled to be launching a prize that welcomes and gives opportunities to unpublished writers. We know there are great undiscovered crime and thriller writers out there – and we’re excited to read many of them over the coming months!’

Sara O’Keeffe says:

‘We are delighted to launch the Deviant Minds crime and thriller prize in conjunction with A.M. Heath and look forward to reading a vast array of stories. We hope that from Deviant Minds will spring some devilishly good fiction.’

All details and Terms and Conditions can be found on the Atlantic Books website:

The full timeline is as follows:

  • Submissions open: 19 February 2018
  • Submission deadline: 00:00 GMT on 27 April 2018
  • Shortlist announced: 18 May 2018
  • Completed novels to be submitted: 11 June 2018
  • Winner announced: 9 July 2018