BOOKS

The Girls of Ennismore

Patricia Falvey

RRP: £7.99

6 April 2017

Published by Corvus

ISBN: 9781786490629

RRP: £1.99

29 September 2016

Published by Corvus

ISBN: 9781786490636

Ireland, 1900. Two girls meet. They are from vastly different worlds, but will be united in friendship through loves, losses and wars. A sweeping, heartrending saga for fans of Diney Costeloe and Rosie Clarke.

It’s the early years of the twentieth century, and Victoria Bell and Rosie Killeen are best friends. Growing up in rural Ireland’s County Mayo, their friendship is forged against the glorious backdrop of Ennismore House. However, Victoria, born of the aristocracy, and Rosie, daughter of a local farmer, both find that the disparity of their class and the simmering social tension in Ireland will push their friendship to the brink…

REVIEWS

An evocative, heartfelt story of how the bond of female friendship can survive and thrive through adversity.KATE KERRIGAN, New York Times bestselling author

Richin authentic historical and Irish detail, The Girls of Ennismore is a compelling story of love, duty, and reinvention, highlighting the vast rewards - or grave consequences - of following one's heart. Fans of Downton Abbey will devour this sweeping tale.Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of The Edge of Lost

An engaging narrative of class differences, sibling entanglements... finding home, finding love, all set against the turbulent 1916 Easter Uprising in Ireland... A complex and enjoyable read.Susan Vreeland

A captivating portrayal of life in Ireland - above and below stairs - during the years leading up to the Great War and the Irish rebellion. Engaging, atmospheric and packed with rich historical detail, I thoroughly enjoyed The Girls of Ennismore.Hazel Gaynor

Patricia Falvey tells the story of some of Ireland's most turbulent year through the lives of two very different women, who are intimately connected. Exciting and moving.Mary Pat Kelly

Patricia Falvey's lovely and deeply romantic novel is more than a finely detailed and well researched chronicle of the tumultuous and sweeping social changes in Ireland at the turn of the last century. It is a richly imagined story of two friends - one woman born to wealth and privilege, the other born in poverty and facing a life of servitude - whose abiding friendship proves stronger than blood ties, an unforgiving class system, and even the ravages of war.Kathleen Kent, author of The Heretic's Daughter